As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the internet gaining more popularity, newspapers are getting obsolete. In my opinion, I agree that the use of the internet has surpassed the need for periodicals. Also, I believe people would prefer the liberty of being able to listen to, watch and read information, which the web provides.

The use of the internet is eco-friendly. People are more aware of the amount of trees felled for paper-making yearly and the effects on the environment. As a result, they are yielding towards an environmentally safe option of acquiring information, which in this case is the net. For example, a few countries have put a cap on the number of trees that can be felled for commercial purposes in a year because of the consequences, such as, deforestation and climate change.This awareness has forced the print media globally to forego the use of trees for paper and result into uploading news on their websites, thereby ensuring environmental sustainability.

Furthermore, the accessibility of the internet cannot be over-emphasized. Most individuals find that using search engines to seek information is much easier than purchasing a newspaper or magazine to stay informed. For instance, students would rather make use of google than go to the library to read newspapers for their assignments. Although the art of reading prints might become inconsequential, the data contained in these materials could as well be uploaded on the web, thus making it uncomplicated for people to stay up-to-date without stress.

To sum up, newspapers are being phased out and gradually replaced by the use of the internet. The environmentally friendly and readily available feature of the internet has no doubt given it an upper hand in this situation. In my view, the advantages of the internet will continue to exceed the need for newspapers.