Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries is becoming more and more popular.Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantage?

Online shopping has been progressively replacing the popularity of conventional shopping. This development has several significant benefits compared to the drawbacks that more adversely affect the individuals and local communities.

The advantages stemming from this trend are tangible. In the olden days when people visited physical stores, they would waste many hours to buy the goods they needed. In this digital era, on the contrary, people can purchase whatever they want within a fingertip locally or internationally through the internet. This, in turn, can allow them to economize their time and invest it in more important activities such as spending time with your family or for higher studies. In addition, people who prefer online shopping are more likely to enjoy a wider range of quality products and quick service, because they offer a huge collection to look and choose carefully. Thus, individuals usually feel the positive effect of this type of shopping.

Nevertheless, there are potential disadvantages surrounding the online shopping. On an individual level, as people shop on the internet regularly, they experience a lack of physical activity. In fact, without going shopping to buy necessary items, people have dramatically reduced their active hours, thereby becoming more vulnerable to health problems like obesity. From a societal perspective, in a consequence of online giants partaking in marketing industry, the vast majority of traditional stores are closing down desperately. This often causes many people to lose their jobs and be unemployed, thus raising unemployment rate in the society. Therefore, both individuals and the community feel the side effects of the development in online shopping.

To conclude, it seems to me that the upsides of advancement in internet shopping are outweighed by its personal and social downsides. With the high technology people can save time and money even though there are few drawbacks.