By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, murderers are often punished with the death penalty, and many people believe that by doing this, society is also committing murder. Because of that, these individuals suggest that serving a prison sentence is a far better way to punish a criminal. I do not completely agree with this statement, so I will provide some arguments to support my point of view.

I firmly believe that the final decision should always be made after taking the heaviness of the crime into consideration. Some offenders are far more brutal than the others because they are fully aware of what they are doing and sometimes even derive pleasure from killing, while other incidents are committed during a gust of malice without previous intention to hurt anyone. For example, my friend who works as a judge explained that some cases of assassination turned out to be due to a wide range of reasons like cheating on a partner, bullying or revenge. That fact suggests that only a few homicides happen without a cause.

However, some culprits had a harsh childhood or are just sick in the head. Therefore, the death penalty is the best thing the government can perform, as sometimes it is impossible to cure the killer. Some other individuals slaughter people even after serving their term, and that fact is the most obvious reason for the death penalty to exist and be used even in modern society.

In conclusion, while some crimes may be done in a gust of anger without a full awareness, some of their executioners are too cruel and therefore deserve to be punished once and for all.