Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

Nowadays, a significant problem in modern society is childhood obesity. While this can be attributed to poor eating habits and sedentary lifestyle, the problem can be solved by providing daily eating plans and encouraging children to do physical activities.

One factor contributing to early obesity is an unbalanced diet in children’s daily lives. Many schools often provide unhealthy lunches such as fast-food and greasy dishes, which partly account for childhood obesity. In addition, many children prefer consuming snacks with poor nutritional value. Sedentary lifestyle is another reason. Nowadays, many children prefer staying at home and playing video games, instead of engaging in outdoor activities, resulting in weight gain. For example, recent study has shown that minors who consistently play sports, are less likely to have childhood obesity, compared to those who usually spend excessive time sitting down.

However, there are a number of ways by which the issue can be resolved. One effective measure would be promoting structured eating routines. Since children spend most of their time at school, nutrition experts should provide sensible daily eating plans, which could significantly aid in weight loss. Moreover, educational authorities could organize activities to increase awareness of the consequences of unhealthy eating habits. Another solution, one that further strengthens the first one, is implementing programs that foster active lifestyles for children. Parents should organize outdoor activities, such as hiking, jogging, snowboarding, and so on, to help their children keep fit. For instance, many experts claim that, involving the developing generation in daily chores, result in increased physical activity

In conclusion, the main reasons behind the early obesity are sitting lifestyle and lack of active exercise routines in children’s lifestyles. To improve the situation, healthy eating plans should be provided and parents should encourage the younger generation to engage in outdoor activities.