Children can learn effectively by watching television. therefore, they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school. to what extent do you agree or disagree.

Can children learn effectively by watching television? Some believe that they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home as well as at school. I would agree to this partially. It can come with many advantages but its own set of challenges as well

On one hand, watching television can have numerous benefits, improved vocabulary and speech would be one of them. Watching a variety of shows on the television can allow children to pick up on various new words and phrases which they might not have learnt otherwise. Furthermore, watching educational content on the television helps the young ones pick up on facts and learn more about topics they show interest in.

On the other hand, the disadvantages to watching television cannot be ignored. Children can consume harmful content, which is not age appropriate if the television usage is not monitored. Secondly, if children become too engrossed in watching television, they might become introverted and prefer watching their favorite show rather than talking to their peers or family. Lastly, increased television time reduces a child’s time for physical activity, which is imperative for their development and mental as well as physical health. Reduced physical activity can cause serious health problems like obesity. Some studies also find a positive correlation between mental health disorders and time spent watching television

To conclude, I do believe that watching television can be beneficial in some ways to children, however its usage should be highly regulated and monitored. they should be allowed to watch television at home for a limited period, and the television should not be allowed in school as it can hamper greatly with their education.