Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary times, youngsters consume notably more content on television than in the past. I believe that the advantages of this trend are heavily overshadowed by the drawbacks.

The positive aspects that watching TV brings to children are quite noticeable. To begin with, Television provides a wide variety of educational shows, which in return can teach children plenty of things. For example, TV shows like “Young Sheldon” or “Malcolm in the Middle” let children get in touch with English, or sci-fi movies can motivate younglings’ creativity. Secondly, watching TV can be used as a stress reduction for the kids. Cartoon plays a vital role in a child’s life, as it build them a childhood.

Despite the aforementioned positive aspects, consuming too much media is claimed to exert some detrimental effects on young people. First of all, health problems from watching television have the biggest impact on youngsters. When children watch TV for a long period of time, their eyes are strained, slowly ruining vision, and they may develop long-term diseases. Moreover, children who watch too much television might develop laziness and time-wasting habits, which ruin their attempts at trying other hobbies or focusing on studying.

In conclusion, although watching TV can provide many educational and stress-reduction benefits, they are heavily eclipsed by the decline in attention and potential health risks. Children must understand the importance of balance in watching TV