Climate change is a serious global problem. What are the causes of climate change, and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle it?

It is true that climate change has become one of the pressing global challenges. This essay will explore the underlying causes of it and present some workable solutions.

On the one hand, there are mainly two factors that lead to climate change. To begin with, excessive combustion of non-renewable energies (coal, oil, and natural gas) generates carbon dioxide (CO2) in the atmosphere, which is directly linked with global warming and melting of polar ice. Not only does CO2 contribute to global heatwave, but it is also believed to cause other natural calamities, such as extreme drought and deteriorated air quality. Moreover, deforestation is another culprit that accelerates climate change. When people fell off trees indiscriminately, there is less greenery that can absorb harmful gas from the environment, resulting in a change in climatic pattern occurring and loss of biodiversity.

Fortunately, however, there are two promising solutions to address climate change. First of all, the governments must adopt policies to curtail the amount of fossil fuel consumptions and promote green energies, such as solar power, wind power, and hydro-electric energy, to offset global carbon emissions. If global CO2 emissions are reduced significantly, mitigating the risk of climate change will be possible. Additionally, undertaking initiatives to plant more trees and encouraging individuals to enhance green spaces will result in environmental sustainability, which will facilitate preservation of biodiversity as well.

In conclusion, although global climate change is undoubtedly a serious issue, concerted efforts from both the governments and individuals can certainly combat this pressing issue.