Climate change is the biggest threat to life on our planet. How accurate is this statement? Is there any other big threat to mankind?

It is claimed that climate change is the chief threat to human civilization. I do not agree with this statement because people can find technological solutions to this problem. However, there is another graver threat, which is that of nuclear weapons as this cannot be so easily solved.

Some would argue that the increase in the planet’s average temperature will leac to catastrophe on a global scale; howeve, the technology already exists to stem this threat. Solar power, combined with the use of electric vehicles, will remove the need for fossil-fueled power stations and transportation. The result will be a massive reduction in the release of greenhouse gases into the earth’s atmosphere, which are the principal cause of global warming. For example, Tesla Motors produces excellent cars that produce zero CO2, and its sister company, Solar City, allows people to produce their own electricity using innovative photovoltaic roof tiles and Powerwall battery packs.

A much larger danger is that of thermonuclear weapons. It would only take one blunder or the outbreak of a major war between nuclear states to wipe out every living thing on earth. This would be caused by the explosions themselves, and the ensuing nuclear winter which would wipe out all plant life and poison the air and oceans. For instance, the United States of America alone has enough nuclear warheads to wipe out every man, woman, and child on earth with its arsenal, anc the Cuban Missile Crisis in the 1960s demonstrated how close it is possible to come to global nuclear war.

In conclusion, I believe that climate change is not the gravest peril the earth faces because we have the technological capability to solve it, and the threat from nuclear arms is much greater.