Climate change is the biggest threat to life on our planet. How accurate is this statement? Is there any other big threat to mankind?

Many believe that climate change is the most significant menace to life on Earth amidst other catastrophes. Although climate change has affected our planet negatively over the past decades, it is not the most dangerous recurrence that mankind needs to overcome in order to survive. Occurrences like worldwide wars and catastrophic events associated with weather pose threat on par with the climate change to our planet.

To begin with, the fact that climate change has led to detrimental outcomes is simply undeniable. With factors like air pollution and water contamination contributing to it, the negative effects of climate change on the globe and the population have increased dramatically. While some researchers argue that global warming is likely to be the end of the life cycle on Earth, it is unreasonable to attribute the imminent disappearance of mankind solely to climate change.

In fact, events including world wars and weather catastrophes affect the ecology and the population excessively. Unexpected occurrences like hurricanes, tornadoes, and tsunamis have the potential to damage the world more than the gradual effects of global warming. Furthermore, wars between nations of any scale lead to fatal outcomes, including the deaths of people and economic hardships. To illustrate, Germany has lost one-third of its nation’s population as a consequence of losing during World War II, with millions of citizens and army being killed or severely injured.

In conclusion, while climate change is undoubtedly one of the biggest menaces to our planet, hazards including wars and arbitrary weather occurrences can put millions of lives at risk in the blink of an eye. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that climate change is the most detrimental threat to humankind; rather, it is one of the events that can have drastic repercussions in the foreseeable future if not addressed properly, similar to other dangers. (Rate, refine)