Write about the following topic: Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, computer technology is widely used in multiple sectors like communications, medicine and transportation. Some people believe that depending on this techology is risky while others disagree. This essay will argue that despite the fact that relying on computer technology can be hazardous, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, because of technology used in communications, transport and medicine there are loads of new possibilities. To be more specific, regarding communications, cross-border communication all over the globe is feasible in contrast with the past. Thanks to computers today people are able to stay in contact with their friends, family and lovers regardless of where they are located and moving from one place to another has also being facilitated with the use of technology. Most of the transportation means, like trains and planes, depend mostly on technology and have become the safest and fastest ways of transfering due to the high accuracy it provides. Moreover, operations related to the health sector have been also simplified thanks to technology. For example, research and treatments are easier and faster to perform because of the use of computers.

On the other hand, high dependence on computers might cause serious problems in case the system stops working. Today more than ever cyberattacks can lead to data leaks of phone and communication platforms users. All the personal data of those people are registered on the platforms and as a result hackers can simply obtain them. Additionally, there is the risk of the computers malfunctioning. Machines can break or work wrongly which can cause a series of problems, like safety issues in transportation or accidents in research and treatments related to medicine. For instance, in the past there was a case when because of a malfanction in the communication between two trains and the central system, those two trains almost crushed.

All in all, although the high dependence on technology can result in complications, nowadays computers are necessary and vital in many sectors.