Write about the following topic: Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Through technological developments, a lot of machinery has emerged as a powerful and inseparable tool in our daily lives. It is inevitable for individuals to rely on these technologies since they provide seamless connections across different sectors, high accuracy when processing complex calculations and enhanced live standards, benefitting people’s communications, medical treatment and logistics. However, others argue that the over-reliance on digital systems may contribute to serious consequences, including the loss of human autonomy and increased unemployment rates. In my profound opinion, both perspectives are true, instead of putting ourselves in this dilemma, we should get a balance between both.

On the one hand, computer systems, especially Artificial Intelligence (AI) generated systems, which are believed to become a prevalent tool in all industries, offer significant benefits regarding the reduced response time and the ability to overcome complexities. With the help of databases, information from distinct departments, which were previously without contact, can be easily connected nowadays. Similarly, problems requiring huge amounts of calculations can be solved by computers instantly. These not only facilitate the science field but also enhance the quality of life. One such example of that is the groundbreaking product released by a famous car company Tesla – an autonomous electric car, which can drive by itself without the passengers’ control. This illustrates how machinery can help reduce human operation.

On the other hand, it is believed that the potential risks of over-dependence on digital systems should not be neglected. Although AI-generated systems can solve perplexities, we humans may lose the ability to think independently when over-relying on them. Furthermore, more employees may be redundant when their jobs can be replaced by automated programming. Ultimately, the rate of unemployment will increase. An appropriate illustration is that many companies in America have laid off their workers and installed advanced AI systems as a replacement.

In conclusion, digital tools have enhanced our living standards by shortening the response time and connecting various sectors, whereas they may also lead to the loss of self-reliance and an increased unemployment rate. In my opinion, it is impossible to live without embracing these technologies in this digital era. However, we should be mindful of the extent to which we are relying on them.