Compared to the past, more people are now studying abroad because it is more convenient and cheaper than before. Do you think this is beneficial to the foreign student's home country? Will this trend change much in the future?

The trends of students studying abroad has become more common due to the factors like easier travel and access to information which some people believe makes the process cheaper and more convenient nowadays. While these movements certainly give advantages to the individual students, it raises question whether it helps the student’s origin and if this phenomenon will continue in the future.

Studying overseas is beneficial for a student’s home country when the graduates return to the country. The students who go to international universities gain modern knowledge, advanced training, and skills that are not available in country of origin. Moreover, when they come back, they could introduce these new methods to the locals and start new business. For instance, a student of engineering had learnt new methods in University of Tokyo, then come back to Indonesia implementing those methods towards their businesses.

Regarding the future, the trend of increasing student mobility will change. Tuition fee and living expenses are not getting cheaper in destinations like USA and UK, is rising quickly, while the rise of online and hybrid university courses offer cheaper options. It would make the way students study internationally will look quite different at a future time. For example, Students of Harvard University and Cambridge University from India chose an online program that offered by its universities.

In conclusion, the increase of students who studying in another country would be helpful to the origin nation when the graduates came back to their country with their new skills. Even though the way students study will be different, this trends of studying across the world will definitely continue in the future.