Creative artists should always be given freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree on this IELTS topic?

In an era characterised by the rise of democratization, the question of freedom of expression has emerged as a profoundly polarising issue. On one side of the argument lies the conviction that artists should be granted permission for free creativity; conversely, another equally compelling faction contends that the authorities had better restrict this trend. While acknowledging the validity of governmental restriction, I am inclined to argue that artistic notions can be creative with enough censorship.

On one hand, freedom of expression in the artistic realm not only serves as a means of entertainment but also a powerful way to reflect society. A liberal piece of art or music can deliver insightful perspectives on life affairs, which offer a multi-dimensional, and more broad observation. In that sense, social issues concerning socioeconomic conditions, politics, or social maladies that may otherwise be overlooked are genuinely mirrored and displayed for further reflection. If art pursuers are artistically constrained, they may risk developing monotonous and stereotyped mindsets. Consequently, this can limit the range of innovative ideas the public can access, leading to a society deprived of artistic and cultural richness.

On the other hand, freedom of expression should be restricted if there are any art works that represent negative implications, notably spreading misleading messages like the exploitation of children or violating national legal framework by revealing reactionary motives. All pieces of art, hence, need puritanical monitoring to keep extremism at bay. However, rather than viewing these two approaches as mutually exclusive, an objective and comprehensive analysis reveals a synergistic relationship between them. Artists should be allowed to pursue their artistic vision provided it does not violate accepted moral standards.

In conclusion, the challenge forward lies not in eradicating the freedom of expression but in cultivating an environment where a desire for innovation and censorship can be effectively balanced.