Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

In recent years, there has been significant debate surrounding the issue that although using bicycles is better for the environment then other vehicles, it is not ubiquitous in numerous regions. This essay will elaborate on the culprits behind this alarming problem and several solutions to deal with it.

The lack of widespread popularity of cycling can be associated with its operational mechanism and limited speed. First and foremost, cycling requires physical exert which results in several uncomfortable situations, namely exhaustion and sweat, unlike motorized vehicles. The implication of this is the preference of people for other modes of transportation, such as cars and motorbikes, which is more than bicycles. A further point to discuss is that the speed of a normal bicycle is much slower than other vehicles. This leads to the situation where individuals must spend more time moving, negatively affecting the popularity of cycling.

Nonetheless, there are some viable solutions and apt adjudgements that can alleviate this situation. One way to address it is that educational institutions should enlighten students about vehicular emissions and the benefits of using bicycles. This solution would hopefully foster the environmental consciousness of future generations from a young age, thereby spurring the popularity of cycling. Another essential point to consider is that governments ought to enact stringent environmental legislations to limit motorized vehicles and stimulate green campaigns to encourage dwellers to utilize bicycles.

In conclusion, bicycles’ operational system and limited speed, with no doubt, have an adverse impact on the scant popularity of cycling. Nevertheless, there are certain pragmatic methods such as educating pupils and encouraging the use of bicycles that can solve the issue.