Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is true that environmental pollution is an interesting public issue, and some believe that cycling is a preferable way to protect the environment rather than other means of transport. However, it is not common to use bicycles as environmentally friendly vehicles. In this essay, I am going to present, first, reasons, then solutions to this problem.

In terms of reasons, there are two. First, faster vehicles are preferable. To illustrate, more modern means of transport, such as motorbikes, help people get to destinations faster without using much force. As a result, bicycles cannot compete with other vehicles due to convenience factors. Second, the increase in shopping demand of people is a reason why bicycles become less common. To demonstrate, more and more people are claiming that owning expensive cars proves their financial capability. Therefore, bicycles are not their priority.

In terms of solutions, there are two. First, it is advantageous to spread meaningful words about the positive impact on cycling. This is because there are a number of people who do not know the negative impacts of carbon emission of motor vehicles. Therefore, the increase of frequency that people catch this piece of knowledge can change their behavior. Second, the crowding effect is a great way to encourage people to cycle. Specifically, lots of people cycling can stimulate some individuals to join. For instance, there is a mobile application that grows trees when people cycle. Surprisingly, there are more and more people using this application, so it has become viral. As a result, it is successful due to the thousands of users of this app.

In conclusion, I have shown some reasons and solutions to the issue that it is not popular to use bicycles as environmentally friendly vehicles.