Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Bicycles indeed harbor less detrimental effects on our nature than other means of transportation. There could be several reasons for this, and there are possible solutions which can be put forward to tackle this problem.

There are several rationales why cycling is more natural-friendly than other forms of transport. Firstly, one of the main causes is that carbon emissions can not be produced from bicycles. Air pollution problems are not caused by cycling while the use of motorcycles and heavy trucks are the main reason for that. For example, road transport (not including bikes) accounts for 15% of total CO2 emissions. Secondly, bikes can be easily made with little resources which is opposite from other transportation such as cars, buses require a large number of resources that can deleteriously harm the environment during the process of making.

For the aforementioned reasons, several actions could be taken to address this problem. To begin with, if the government encourages more people to use bicycles, the environment might improve significantly. As a result, less carbon emissions are produced and nature exploitation is also reduced. Furthermore, citizens also run campaigns about cycling to increase the use of bikes and therefore resolve the environmental problem. To be more specific, there will be several events organized to unite people and speak one voice about the benefits of cycling and reflect the negative effects of other transportation.

In conclusion, this issue is mainly due to not only CO2 emissions but also environmental resource exploitation. However, there are feasible measures that both the government and individuals can take to combat this.