Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What are the causes of this? What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

It is true that the quality and quantity of foods required by most nations have been rising. There are various reasons behind this phenomenon, and several solutions need to be implemented to solve this problem.

There are multiple explanations for this alarming hindrance. One of the notable main causes is that the increasing of population. The inhabitants of worldwide are growing; thus there are more requirements of foodstuffs to meet their demand. In addition to population growth, changing diets and an increase in urbanization have also contributed to the increase in food demand. As people move to the metropolitan areas, their income rises and they tend to shift to more processed dishes and consume more meat and dairy which is a significant resource for processing food and also enhances the demand for food. Furthermore, many farmers in rural areas have poor conditions due to the costly price of equipment and fertilizers; consequently, they receive a low profit from their crops, hence they decide to quit farming because of the struggles they are facing and a lack of money.

To untangle the situation, the global community and the authorities can take several measures. Firstly, governments should enforce stricter laws and raise awareness about having one or two children in a family. The most typical case can be seen in China. Over the years, China’s population witnessed a significant increase, recognizing the domestic problem, their administration decided to fulfill the policies that have been mentioned and they succeeded in controlling their residents. Secondly, public officers can encourage people to try a variety of foods. Therefore, the quantity of one commodity offering is greatly reduced and its divided equally for numerous sides. Thirdly, the government should provide reasonable donations for farmers and local residents ought to purchase vegetables and fruits directly from growers, avoiding middlemen. This will ultimately increase their revenue and ensure they are compensated for their hard work.

In conclusion, there are many reasons that explain the growth of demand for food; however, if public communities and authorities have any sensible methods and act more strictly, they can easily handle the rising demand for food and satisfy their personal preferences.