Details of politicians’ private lives should not be published in newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Political issues and agendas vary in different parts of the world and thus the policies regarding the people involved in it also differ depending on social context and circumstances. However, the debate exists universally whether private life of politicians should be exposed in the headlines or not.

To begin with, let us consider the politicians from humanly perspectives with emotions and psychological factors like us, the common people. Although they chose to be public speakers and representatives on behalf of the general people, they are mere individuals just as us at the end of the day. Therefore some sociologists and researchers argue that mental health of politicians and their family members, specially underage ones should be regarded and owing to that, political leaders have the very rights to protect their personal informations from the curiosity of media and press.

While the aforementioned opinion is accepted by many, some political researchers oppose it. To justify their logistics, they claim that the common people should know the whereabouts of who they are voting for and are going to lead the government. The reason being, if any politician have criminal records on domestic terms they can easily hide it. Moreover, their personal life tend to be a reflection of their ethical values and etiquettes. Hence, the politicians should maintain transparency on their personal life to give the commoners an idea of the extent to their practices of personal views shared with the media.

In my opinion, I personally respect privacy of people and support individualism. Yet, individuals involved in politics play a major role in the development of the country and society by contributing to the law-making process. For that reason, the minor family members and the ones who are not involved with the legacy of the political ideology anymore, should get exemption from the process of being flashed to the media. Still and all, the activities of politicians are subject to judgment of the people and media if they are relevant.

To conclude, children of the politicians should have their privacy to preserve their overall well-being in neighborhoods and school unless decided otherwise by their parents. Moreover, their distant relatives who chose to stay out of politics should not be bothered as well. Despite that, choosing a leader for the country should be through well-maintained procedures.