Discursive Essay Task: Write a 400-word essay discussing both sides of the topic: "Should university education be free for every one?" Present balanced arguments before giving your own opinion.

Universities play an important role in the life of most individuals that live on this planet. It is the core priority of education that most students aim to achieve to live a prosperous life and pursue a good-withstanding career. Universities can help raise people in poverty through a good job, but most universities are usually expensive and not cheap, making only a few people able to attend and the others, on the other hand, won’t be able to attend. This essay will discuss whether universities should be free or not.

Initially, universities in our modern day are very expensive with some college tuition ranging from $8,500 to $94,000 annually, which would sum up to a really big amount that not everyone could afford. This makes prodigies and people who could really perform well with a promising future unable to attend universities and cause them to live in a wide poverty for the rest of their lives, which is not fair for them comparing them to others with money. Not only would having free universities provide fairer opportunities for everyone but would also allow higher education to be more available and crime rate to significantly decrease.

On the other hand, if universities became free, the government would have to spend a lot more money to cover the costs. This might lead to higher taxes for everyone or less money being spent on other important things like hospitals or roads. Also, if university is free for all, more people might apply, which could make it harder to get in and lower the quality of education. Some students might not take their studies seriously if they don’t have to pay, which could lead to overcrowded classes and less attention from teachers.

To conclude, if universities are fully free it would help a lot of people to become successful and it would give everyone a fair chance of education and to have a good career reducing crime rates and gangsters against teenagers. On the other side, having free universities would cause a funding problem for the government and the teachers working there making it hard for them to rely on jobs like that and universities will overcrowd. In my opinion, I think that neither solution is incorrect, and the best solution is that universities prices decrease with better payment options such as student loans, which is happening right now. This would help people living in poverty without causing a problem for the government or a way to pay the teachers as universities should be mainly made to help students rather than to make profit from it.