Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Digitalization anf the development if new technologies has been influensing our lives considerably since the beginning of the century. Some think that this tendency brings us closer together, others are convinced that technologies separate people. However, I believe that societies of the digital era are more tight connected than those from older years. Primarily, it is because of social networks in the Internet, but also due to the internalization of the world.

On the one side, people tend to spent less time with their friends and family in real life today because they prefer chatting in the Internet. We often write messages instead of instead of talking to each other, even if we are in the same building or area. For example, my sister constantly sends me text messages when we are both at home but in different rooms. There is no doubt that such habits lead to the lack of communication and thus, drives close people apart.

On the other side, the development of social networks such as Facebook or Instagram enables constant communication. People are able to stay in touch independent from their location. For example, migrants in Germany have a chance to see their relatives from China or India significantly more often than only once a year when they fly home. Furthermore, the development of such platforms as Zoom or Skype allows businesses from different countries to come together and discuss affairs without a need for a businness trip. This globalization of markets leads to new social contacts between people from different cultures and thus, to better understanding of human behaviour depending on the cultural background. This makes theglobal society more united.

To sum up, there are different views on the impact of modern technologies on social connectedness. While digitalization drives families apart due to lack of face-to-face interactions, globally it enables intercultural communication and thereby brings different cultures together. I am convinced that the latter effect is significantly stronger than the former one and thus, I believe that new technologies lead to more united societies.