Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home.

Many companies lately have been demanding their employees to work hybrid, and other companies are requesting for remote working. It has been the topic of many new graduates and senior employees. In this text, I will speak about the pros and cons of working from home.

On the positive side, working from home has created a free space to the employee by controlling their time and their environment unlike working from office. A person might finish their tasks while taking care of their children or while cooking their favorite meal. Many employees wish to spend such a quality of time with their families, while balancing between family time and with their jobs. It also made work seem easier. For example, a new graduate will not feel stalked by their supervisor all the time while finishing their duties. Therefore, it is perceived by many as a step forward towards better work-life balance and increase in productivity.

On the negative side, remote working is leaving many people being lazy, unhealthy, and easily distracted by unnecessary videos on Instagram, for example. The Isolation and loneliness experienced while working from home have a detrimental effect on the mental health. Additionally, working from home increases the dependency on technology. A malfunction in the internet or in the software could cause disruption in the working flow and the productivity. For example, my brother who is a HR remote worker had suffered a software malfunction in his company, which led to pile of work when the software got fixed.

To conclude, working from home is the new trend of many jobs and companies, leaving many people happy with spending more time with their families at home. Perhaps, there are some disadvantages that may lead to health problems, mental problems or disruption of the work flow.