Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home.

In this ever-changing era, rapid advancements in technology, specifically the invention of web conference applications, have allowed humans to work flexibly, anywhere and anytime. As a result, the term “working from home” is gaining traction among white-collar people. This essay will dive deeper into two opposing views and finally derive my opinion about this growing phenomenon.

People supporting this idea state that by working from home, workers experience more comfort and flexibility in their daily timetable and to-do list. Traditionally, with normal working habits, people will have to get up in time to do morning routines and commute to work, which isn’t always helpful and pleasant. But, with the idea of working remotely, people can experience freedom in every way, and with plenty of time, they will become happy and satisfied. Avoidance of commuting and traffic can reduce tiredness, which is vital in terms of efficiency. And, people are stress-free from ‘working etiquettes” as their appearances in the office are redundant. In conclusion, working from home will reduce stress and improve working space comfort, which in many ways boosts the work’s efficacy.

On the other hand, people standing against this phenomenon counter that the pleasure of working from home can easily lead to procrastination and self-indulgence. Staying at home equals total freedom and almost no limits in action, and in addition to the absent supervision, workers are vulnerable to notorious time-wasting applications such as games and social media. While staying at home without any motivation or oversight, it is hard for workers to keep a disciplined self, which can lead to efficiency decline in work. In general, working from home means risking fully developed positive personalities into time-consuming worthless activities, deteriorating the work’s total efficacy.

So, in my opinion, with both sides presenting such sharp ideas, I believe it is only reasonable to balance between working from home and working in the office.