DOWNLOADING MUSIC OR FILMS WITHOUT PAYING IS AS MUCHA OF A CRIME AS STEALING FROM A SHOP.

In recent years, the advent of technology has increased the percentage of crimes against intellectual property, as the internet offers a wide variety/range of platforms from which people can download music or movies without paying. The question is whether this behavior should be punished like other types of theft. In my opinion, the answer is definitely yes.

First of all, illegal downloads directly affect the work and creativity of artists, who have to fight for their work to be recognized. Everyone has the right to get paid for their work and songwriters, musicians and the rest of the music industry workers cannot be an exception.

In addition, downloading music without paying can lead to less revenue for governments, as they will not receive the taxes related to sales. Thus, other citizens are deprived of essential public services, such as healthcare, education, security, etc., which are more crucial than private property. Therefore, the punishment should be more severe than when an item is stolen from a store.

Finally, paying for the music or films that you download is significant to artists, directors and composers has enough incomes to creates new songs or movies.

In conclusion, I believe that respecting the work of the artist is the best way to defend our own culture as a society and be respected.