Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Nowadays, increase in the rate of crime is an essential concern all over the world. This is happening due to the poverty and substance abuse of the people. It might be solved by increasing job opportunities and supporting individuals struggling with addiction.

The reason behind the increasing the number of crimes is primarily connected with unemployed people lives in poverty. Most of the unemployed people do not have job opportunity because of lack of education. It is obviously clear that poor education limit opportunities. As they are unable to find work and support themselves or their families financially, they are constrained to burgle.

As well as people who are struggling with drug or alcohol addiction are more likely to commit a crime. When they do not have enough money to meet their substance abuse needs or are under the influence of drugs, the likelihood of committing crime increases.

The most realistic solutions to prevent this issue can be found and applied by the government. More job training programs should be organized, so that people have some qualifications to find job. Free treatment and health centers should be established in the country, where drug addicts can stay there for a certain period of time and give up these bad habits. In many countries, the punishment for crimes is only a few years. People who commit crimes are more likely to reoffend after a short prison term when released. Examples can be given from our country, as well as from other countries. If harsher penalties is imposed for serious crimes such as violent crimes, drug trafficking, and human trafficking can help reduce criminal behavior

In conclusion, main causes behind immoderate increase in crime rates are economic issues, and substance abuse and it may be tackled by increasing employment opportunities, providing access to treatment and imposing harsher penalties.