Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

The crime rate in the world is experiencing a significant increase year after year, becoming one of today’s global problems. This essay will explore the main factors contributing to the rise in criminal activities and suggest potential measures to reduce these occurrences.

This is happening due to several factors which are affecting people deeply, such as the lack of proper education system, high levels of domestic violence, widespread unemployment and poverty and so on. Educational factors stand at the main cause behind the increase in crime proportion, related to all of these problems mentioned above. In the future, people with poor education and who have not been able to develop themselves may not have good jobs and show domestic violence by not being able to properly educate their children, which can lead to a toxic society. Additionally, problems like these expand, by causing to the types of crime such as theft, drug and human trafficking, murder, and so on. For instance, in South Africa, the lack of access to quality education, particularly in poverty areas, has contributed to rising crime rates. With limited education, many young people face unemployment and economic hardship, pushing them toward criminal activities such as gang violence and theft as a means of survival.

The most potential solution to rising crime proportions is investing in education, establishing new educational institutions and installing new infrastructure in schools. By improving access to quality education and equipping individuals with commercial skills, young people will have better employment opportunities, the literacy level of the society will enhance, reducing the likelihood of turning crime. Additionally, in schools, children could be provided with a high level of psychological support, which can be helpful for their growth and future personalities. For example, in Finland, the government has established a comprehensive education system that includes psychological support and study materials, which equips them with essential skills for employment.

As a result, many problems arose from the lack of education, can also cause to a significant increase in crime rate, and the solution to this, firstly is to make sure that each individual has the proper education and psychological training.