Essay question 12: It is inevitable/obvious that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible/conflicting/contradictory/opposite. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In today’s society, there has been an ongoing debate brought about as a result of the fast-paced development of technology, there are those who argue that traditional cultures will gradually be lost as a by-products of this ever-growing process. However, there remain some individuals who hold a somewhat contradictory perspective – that technology not only does not undermine conventional values but can also foster it and help preserve them. Personally, I hold a mixed perspective on this arguement as I think the mentioned values can both conflict with and complement each other.

Considering those who believe that folk culture is being undermined by modern developments, I agree that they maintain some valid points. To begin with, the process of globalization and modernizing have saturated our life with innovative, high-tech products, making conventional values and traditional elements become outdated and less appreciated, thus leading to an unconscious lost in conventional values. For instance, the gradually disappearance of folk songs and traditional arts is evident illustrators for this concept, for they have been undermined and overshadowed byy modern genres of music, namely pop and electric music.

On the other hand, technology can be a powerful tool for the process of preserving and enliving conventional cultures if used wisely. The rise of digital devices and portable appliances have paved the way for a revolution in the way we access to cultural contents. For example, recorded folk songs or documentary films can now be shared pubicly all over the internet. Moreover, artificial intelligence can also be leveraged to regenerate ancient buildings from its remnants, thus being used for the reconstruction of damaged ancient sites. By leveraging technology, we can raise public awareness and shape social attitudes towards the importance of traditional values, which are essential for the preservation process and play an important role in the success of conservation programs.

In conclusion, I believe the relationship between technology and traditional culture can be both contradictory and supportive. Nevertheless, with thoughtful application, we can gradually minimize the drawbacks and make use of technological tools to safeguard and promote cultural values