Fewer young people play sports these days. Why is this? What can be done to encourage more young people to do sports?

Nowadays, only a limited number of teenagers play sport games. This is happening because they play online video games and they do not have efficient time after studies. However, this can be reduced by introducing new physical sports in school or college, and the government should ban all online sports applications.

First, the popularity of the internet is increasing day by day. That is why teenagers use smartphones to play online games and do not try to play physical games. Also, they can play all physical games anytime on their mobile phones, so they have a lot of interest in these video games. Moreover, they do not have extra time after school or college hours. Because, nowadays, all students have to be regular with their education; otherwise, they have no job options. For example, according to the Sports Department of Gujarat, in 2024 only 6% of the school students participated in the Khel Mahakumbh, but in 2019 more than 30% of the students participated.

This can be controlled by increasing the number of sports lectures in schools or colleges. In this lecture, teenagers have to play any new physical games with each other or with a team. Also, the school department should introduce new things related to sports and should give equal importance to studies and sports. Moreover, the central government should formulate a new rule in which teenagers cannot install games from any platform, or they should ban all online, time-consuming games. For example, the USA has more than 1000 gold medals in the Olympics because their children cannot use mobile phones excessively and there is equal importance given to studies and games.

In conclusion, today, only a few youngsters do physical activity. This is happening because they have a range of online games and they do not have much time after study hours. However, this can be controlled by introducing new games, and the government should close all online game platforms.