Financial education should be included as a mandatory subject in schools to prepare students for managing money effectively. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a matter of fact, being educated in financial terms seems to be utterly beneficial for everyone. Therefore, I am inclined to agree that studying finances at school as an obligatory subject can be a sensible idea. Yet, there exist a number of counterarguments in this regard, which also have to be allowed for.

To start off, one has to admit that the introduction of Finances as a compulsory subject may well be accompanied by a number of issues and could even be opposed by some people. One of the reasons is that far from all state schools in all countries can provide financial education at a satisfactory level as it appears to be a fairly complex subject. In other words, in the extreme, one may argue that this subject might be too demanding and difficult for school teachers to conduct and too complicated for schoolchildren to perceive. To some extent, serious and in-depth financial education may be classified as a subject designated solely for adults driven to learn it. At the same time, the very basics of standard financial literacy could be effectively taught within several hours during other subjects. Thus, in theory, one need not introduce a separate obligatory subject for this purpose. Furthermore, speaking objectively, schoolchildren usually do not possess a lot of their own money to manage. Moreover, their parents tend to make most of the financial decisions instead of their offspring anyway until the latter turn 18. Hence, it is children’s parents who should be responsible for educating their children how to deal with money, sharing their wisdom and life experience.

Despite all the persuasive arguments above, I am convinced that financial education must be viewed as very practical and exceptionally important for schoolchildren to learn. What is more, however radical it may sound, other academic subjects, namely the arts, chemistry and the like, which are obligatory in many schools, are of little importance and practicality for the average schoolchild’s future. To elaborate, young people interested in the arts or physics can explore said subjects duly at colleges or universities, if is truly a matter of their interest, whereas financial education seems to be arguably useful for literally everyone, since each and every person deals with money and banking on a regular basis. It is common knowledge that people, especially the youth, are liable to make various rather ridiculous mistakes in respect of managing their money, which may well lead to serious issues, debts and even poverty. As they say, knowledge is power, and schools, not only parents, are supposed to prepare children for real life and all possible circumstances. Ultimately, one can hardly deny that, supposing young people are very educated in general but do not have a clue as to how to manage their finances, it is downright a shame.

To conclude, although there may be listed certain counterarguments and nuances to take into consideration, I deem that acquiring financial literacy at school as part of the curriculum should be regarded as an exceptionally sensible and fruitful idea.