Financial education should be included as a mandatory subject in schools to prepare students for managing money effectively. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As one of the crucial field, finance is an aspect that unseparated from our lives. In education area, some people believe that financial education should be a mandatory subject in order to educate students on managing money efficiently. Based on this statement, I strongly agree that the knowledge of financial as a subject will lead to understanding better related to budgetary that will help them to prepare their future, however financial management as a subject should be considered with the level of students’ class.

Subject financial management will lead students to understand how they have to manage their money. Even though, most of students’ finance, particularly elementary school students, still managed by their parents, it will enhance awareness related to which parts they have to set aside their money. For instance, they will able to manage their pockets money that given by their parents by themselves well and put aside the desire to buy something that is not needed. It leads to saving awareness in early age and avoid wasteful behavior.

On the other hand, even though financial education as a mandatory substance has an advantage to educate students financial management from early age, some levels education should not be involved in it. We can take a look at the lowest class in elementary school, first class, for instance, they do not given the subject in attempt to avoid the students’ burden of the subject they do not even understand. In other words, several level just need to focus on the basic knowledge, and financial subject just should be involved in higher level of education whereas student have had better understanding of monetary.

In summary, it is totally necessary to adjust which level of education that financial education substance given. The benefits of the discipline will be felt more by student who have better comprehension of monetary, meanwhile it will be a burden for student who has no enough understanding of finance.