Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people ate only local food produced by farmers.

With the growth of supermarket sectors all over the world, customers can find international food at one stop. Some people think that food imported from distant lands has a negative effect on the local economy and culture. They are of the opinion that localities must prefer eating regionally by farmers and local producers. In my opinion, more popularity of regional food will help in the business and employment locally.

Local foods are beneficial not only for the economy but for the environment as well. Primarily, locally grown food items are more nutritious and are free from artificially added preservatives. Regional food are much healthier and fresher as it does not consume transit facilities unlike the processed grocery food items hence saving the fossil fuels too. For example, local fruits and spices are tastier and organic than the chemically processed ones. Farmers too can get international opportunities and recognition thereby attracting tourism and promoting agritourism.

On the contrary, with globalization, consumers get the privilege to enjoy food from all over the world without travelling to far off places. People can choose from a variety of options available in the market. Like for instance, consumers of western cultures can easily enjoy Indian food at their local super markets and vice versa. Getting to taste international food helps locals to understand the culture and build international brotherhood among nations. In addition, export and import for various food items bring a positive effect on the economy of the countries.

It can be concluded that consuming regionally produced food has economic and environmental benefits. Though we can get our hands on foreign food items easily, promoting local food would help local market gain profits.