Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is this a positive or negative development?

As fossil fuels have been increasingly prevalent in recent years, the use of renewable sources has always been a topic of interest. It is argued that in some countries, people were empowered to use the greener substitute. While there are admittedly several disadvantages to the environment, I believe that the positive influences of this growing development are more glaring.

On the one hand, the use of alternative sources is detrimental to a certain extent. First, changing entire sources to carbon-free energy sources is prohibitively expensive. Since the infrastructure for renewable energy requires significant investment, which is out of reach for some countries, especially those with limited financial budgets. As a result, the government would likely struggle with how to allocate funds to equilibrium the quality of residents’ life and the development of alternative energy systems. Moreover, power generated from renewable sources makes it challenging to maintain a reliable energy supply. This is because alternative energy is not always stable, which depended on weather conditions leading to difficulty to ensure a consistent energy supply, particularly if nations unpredictable the weather patterns. Wind power, for instance, relies on wind speed; if the weather is not windy, there is not enough wind to activate the wind power systems resulting in periods when wind production is low or unavailable.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the aforementioned negative impact pales in comparison with the significant advantages of carbon-free power. Firstly, energy from renewable resources is environmentally friendly. As the world carbon-based fuels consumption increases significantly nowadays leading to detrimental implications on the environment, it is essential to transition to renewable energy which facilitates the green environment. For example, uranium enrichment is the weapons-grade nuclear material or the weaponize, which were primary culprits behind the escalating international tensions and global security threats. Therefore, it raises concern regarding the dispute over natural resources. Furthermore, using greener substitutes are the key to solve these problems. In the context of the imminent energy crisis, carbon-free sources which are infinite could minimize the impact on the environment. Consequently, make them more suitable choices for long-term energy needs.

In conclusion, despite the high initial cost and risk of sustainable energy supply, the switch from fossil fuels to alternative resources cannot be underestimated as it offers lots of advantages such as friendly environmentally friendly materials and certain solutions for scarce resources. Therefore, I firmly believe that the setbacks of using alternative sources overshadow its disadvantages in the long term.