Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, in some parts of the world, people experience severe difficulties with water because it is a limited resource. This might be caused by increasing population and could be resolved with the help of politicians and citizens.

Firstly, people pollute the water through their domestic activities, such as using pesticides, throwing household waste, and which pollutes freshwater sources. Moreover, these chemical pollutants can evaporate into the atmosphere and spread over large areas, contaminating major rivers. Furthermore, some persons leave decay matter and animal bodies in the water stream instead of keeping their surroundings clean. Generally, industrial areas pollute water around them. The most serious pollutant is the the radiactive elements that contribute to water endangerment, causing death to many people. For example, the industrial zone in Cairo is suffering because all the water bodies around it are already polluted and they are trying to find water for employees.

The most effective solution for this problem is for the government to help mitigate it. Initially, the government should implement financial penalties related to environmental regulations. Then, citizens will begin to observe rules, consequently decreasing pollution and keeping their environment cleaner. In addition, authorities should contribute to the stability and quality of water. Besides, citizens can responsibly use water to lessen water usage. According to research by a group of students at Oxford University, if people do not use water responsibly, the whole world will experience difficulties with water. However, the government can help to prevent it.

In conclusion, the increasing global demand for freshwater is primarily due to population growth. However, government and politicians’ regulation can help to better deal with it.