Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Fresh water, which is vital for the survival of humans to this day, has always been a narrow resource for humans. For many reasons, fresh water has rung the bell again as it has become a global issue recently. This essay will explore the factors that are contributing to this phenomenon and suggest some actions that can be taken to address this problem.

First of all, population explosion is undoubtedly the most important factor. The increasing global population creates a greater demand for fresh water. For instance, in 2022, India recorded a population of over 1.4 billion people. This large population can create a shortage of fresh water available to the locals in India. Another reason for this phenomenon is the economic development of the population. If a country experiences effective economic growth, it will lead to a higher GDP. As a result, people can afford more modern technologies that use more fresh water, leading to an increased demand for fresh water. Therefore, the increased demand for fresh water can be attributed to the world’s population explosion and the rise in average income.

However, the government can easily control this by implementing laws limiting each household’s water usage so that they do not waste fresh water. Secondly they should invest in technologies and infrastructures that treat waste water and turn it into fresh water, addressing the growing need for clean water. Furthermore, the people can help by raising awareness about the limited access to fresh water and trying to help and make a change.

In conclusion, the scarcity of fresh water is a serious and growing global problem. However, with help from both the government and individuals, we can work to alleviate this issue.