Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalisation along with modernisation has provided many amenities and services in transportation modes. In recent times, some individuals believe that railways should be invested more money rather than roads by the authorities. If questioned, I would agree with this viewpoint to a large extent. My inclination is explained in the ensuing paragraphs with valid reasons and appropriate examples.

One compelling reason in favour of my opinion is that it can reduce traffic congestion. With the advent of technology, in today’s world, there is a trend of buying our own vehicles which can lead to huge, frustrating traffic. Hence, If governments spend more funds on railway transport, it can reduce carbon emission, global warming, and annoying traffic. Moreover, it provides many facilities compared to roads. For example, people can order food, use refreshment services, and enjoy their journeys without any disturbance while they are travelling.

Furthermore, it is also time-saving transportation. In scrambled lifestyles, people usually prefer less time-consuming transportation because they have to reach their designated locations on time. Therefore, railway mode can be proven as a faster transportation service compared to roads. Besides this, it is cost-effective and reduces noise pollution. Due to the advent of renewable energy, governments can spend money on electric trains which are ecofriendly and noiseless. If governments do this, citizens do not have to pay more money for tickets. Additionally, it can create less noises than road transportation because roads are quite busy due to the increasing ratio of personal vehicles.

However, it should not be overlooked that roads connect our local areas, which can help us reach there quickly. Without roads, people would face many difficulties like they have to travel a lot to use railway transport.

To conclude, although highways provide better connectivity to local areas, I believe that governments should invest money to improve railways. It can be beneficial for everyone in terms of time-saving, cost-effectiveness, less disturbance, and reduce head aching traffic.