Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, lots of governments invest much money in improving transportation. Thereby, there exists a widespread concern over the view that governments ought to spend money on railways instead of roads. Personally, I believe that railways really deserve more funding from governments than roads for the following reasons.

To begin with, compared with roads, the reason why railway is worth of long-term investment is that railways can carry more volume of cargo and more people with larger capacity and higher speed.Firstly, railway train are powered by electric energy, which is more stable and effictive. One high-speed train can carry more and heavier carriages and remain speed at 300km per hour. Speed plays important role in urgent event. With more solid trails,train can carry more kinds of cargos, especailly products of unregular shape or overweight industrial materials, or precise instruments, which help the developmrnt of manufacturing industry. For example, one 50-meter-length steel beam can be transported by railway to construct the cross-sea bridge which can not be carried by cars as cars have stricter limitation according to traffic rules. Secondly, one railway consists of at least twenty carriages, each which has a seating capacity of over seventy and that is exactly the maxmum of number of passengers that one bus on road can accommodate. Larger capacity and higher speed are main points for government to finance.

Furthermore, compared with road transportation, railway transportation can improve effectiveness and efficiency of traveling .First, railway can go to the destination straightforward.Tracks are designed to cross the different landscape by the shorter way, so engineers can excavate caves through moutains to construct railway tunnels. By contrast, cars have to take roundabout way to avoid the mountains, which wastes more time and manpower cost. Second, more modern facilities and more space on the train can improve people’s sense of satisfaction.Passangers can enjoy convenient during the railwlay trip because there are dining carriages, water boilers and toilet carriages on the train ,which can help tourists and business travelers charge their batteries and take a break, while driving cars need high concentration. So state budgets on improving the number and performance of the railway can make a huge difference to residents’ levels of happiness.

On the other hand, it has to admitted that build roads might consume less energy and be more environmental-friendly. Less materials are used in building road and that casues less pollution originally, but later cars cause contamination, both smog and acid rain.The road and freeways which support large amount of vehicles are easily to breakdown, and need routinely maintaining. By a contrast, more resourse are utilized at beginnig to produce the track and train, but after which less extra input is need as the quality of steel of railway is extremely high, that makes railways also have some advantages in enviroment.

In conclusion ,railway need more finacial support because it have advantages compared to cars.