Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modernization, without a doubt, has introduced several means to commute, such as metro trains and electric buses. Regarding this, experts believe that government authorities should invest money on railway infrastructure instead of road transport; therefore, railways become more convenient and flexible for citizens. I strongly agree with this viewpoint to large extent, and my inclination will be justified in the ensuing paragraphs.

One of the compelling reasons to this stance is to provide comfortable means of transportation. In developing countries like India, a higher number of individuals travel through trains, especially underprivileged population. If governments allocate big share of their economy to this transport rather than roads, citizens use it more frequently, which encourage others to travel by public transportation. Besides this, road vehicles emit a substantial amount of green house gases that reduce if they have any other alternative to commute.

Furthermore, railways provide versatile benefits, such as greater capacity, a good accessibility, and many others. For instance, trains are quicker option after flights; therefore, everyone can travel by this. Apart from this, metros and bullet trains save times because they are not hindered by any traffic, which is the major concerning issue in cities.

However, roads have its own benefits. Inside the cities, local authorities have to focus on roads because they are often used by individuals; therefore, a proper maintenance of them is essential.

To wrap up the discussion, it can finally be commented that although roads provide many benefits, governments should contribute proper portion to both the categories. Inside cities, roads are more flexible to travel; whereas, trains are appropriate for longer trips.