Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, lots of governments invest much money in improving transportation. Thereby, there exists a widespread concern over the view that governments ought to spend money on railways instead of roads. Personally, I believe that railways really deserve more funding from governments than roads for the following reasons.

To begin with, compared with roads, the reason why railway is worthy of long-term investment is that railways can carry larger volume of cargo and more people with larger capacity and higher speed. Firstly, railway trains are powered by electric energy, which is more stable and effective. For instance, one high-speed train can operate at speed of 300km per hour while carrying numerous heavy carriages. Speed plays an crucial role in urgent events. With more solid trails,trains can carry a diverse range of cargos, especaily products of irregular shape or overweight industrial materials, or sensitive equipments, which significantly contributes to the advancement of the manufacturing industry. For example, one 50-meter-length steel beam can be transported by railway to construct the cross-sea bridge, which cannot be carried by cars as cars have stricter limitations according to traffic rules. Secondly, one railway consists of at least twenty carriages, each of which has a seating capacity of over seventy, and that is exactly the maxmum of number of passengers that one bus on the road can accommodate. Larger capacity and higher speed are main points for government to finance.

Furthermore, compared with road transportation, railway transportation can enhnces the effectiveness and efficiency of traveling. Though crossing different landscapes, railway networks are designed to provide the dirct access to destination straightforwardly , thus engineers can excavate caves through mountains to construct railway tunnels. By contrast, cars have to take roundabout way to avoid the mountains, resulting in increased travel time and costs. Additionally, more modern facilities and more space on the train can improve people’s sense of satisfaction.Passangers can enjoy convenience during the railway trip because there are dining carriages, water boilers, and toilet carriages on the train, which can help tourists and business travelers recharge their batteries and take a break, while driving cars needs intense concentration. So state budgets on improving the number and performance of the railway can make a huge difference to residents’ levels of happiness.

On the other hand, it has to admitted that building roads might consume less energy and be more environmental-friendly. Less materials are used in building roads and that casues less pollution originally, but later cars cause contamination, both smog and acid rain.The roads and freeways which support large amount of vehicles are easily to break down, and need routine maintaining. By a contrast, more resourses are utilized at the beginnig to produce the track and train, but after which less extra input is needed as the quality of steel of the railway is extremely high, that makes railways also have some advantages in environment.

In conclusion, railway need more financial support because they have advantages compared to cars.