Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that governments should invest more in the construction of railways instead of roads. From my perspective, I completely agree with this idea due to the following reasons mentioned in this essay.

In fact, governments in most countries around the world have to take a lot of money from the national budget to solve existing environmental issues. Therefore, encouraging people to use public transport can be an efficient solution for pollution related to gas emissions. In this case, constructing more railroads throughout the country potentially contributes to the decline in the number of citizens using private vehicles, because trains are one of the most convenient means of transport for long-distance journeys. Consequently, the money spent on this area might be significantly reduced due to the less severe contamination caused by vehicles, and it is probably utilized for more important areas such as the economy and education.

In addition to environmental aspects, the risen presence of railways is able to attract both domestic and international travelers to visit key tourist destinations situated in inconvenient locations. In reality, some tourist attractions are located in the high mountains or secluded areas where some visitors may find it hard to reach due to the limitations of cars or motorbikes. In this situation, trains can provide them with easier access to these places, which probably leads to the growth of the number of tourists. As a result, governments can collect many more benefits than ever to contribute to the commonwealth.

To sum up, the additional building of railways should be carried out rather than roads, and I strongly believe that the railways can bring several advantages for both governments and city dwellers.