Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it? Cause/reason:

In this day and age, homelessness is increasingly prevalent in large cities across the globe. I will first examine the causes for this phenomenon, then suggest some viable solutions to this problem.

There are a variety of reasons for homelessness to occur, chief among them are inadequate income and domestic violence. In the past, it was obvious that people with minimal earnings could still manage to reside in a cozy house. However, nowadays in many developed cities, such an amount of money is not adequate for owning a home, due to the fact that while the cost of living staggers, wages do not increase, leaving many people with insufficient savings, let alone homeownership. These constant stagnant wages keep people trapped in poverty and more prone to homelessness. Another major reason is household violence in which women and children are the victims. With a fear of being violated by husband or father, they may flee home to find peaceful shelters, such as parks or streets, making them become unfortunate homeless people.

To alleviate this situation, there are several ways the authorities may find useful. The most obvious one is to increase the salary. This not only allows people to purchase a house, but also provides them an opportunity to set aside some money for emergencies. Besides, companies rewarding their employees with more financial grants is a reasonable solution as well. Another feasible one that the government could do is offer affordable rented homes so that homeless individuals can shelter without worrying about the price. To achieve this, it requires strong policies and plans so as to benefit both parties.

In conclusion, low income and in-house violence are among the reasons for the increasing homelessness. These root causes can be tackled with appropriate approaches from the authorities.Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world.

What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?