Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it? Cause/reason:

Lately, the proportion of employed youth is decreasing in many countries in the world. In the 18th century, the main cause of that was the invention of machines and the development of industry. Nowadays, the causes are different. In this essay, the reasons behind such an issue will be discussed as well as what measures can be taken to reduce it.

One of the main reasons that contribute to the rise in the percentage of youth unemployment is the saturation of the job market. Every year, a significant number of students graduate from different universities, and many of them do not find job opportunities, and end up being unemployed for several years. In third-world countries like Morocco, engineering graduates for example are known for a low rate of employment, and that is because companies do not need more engineers. Another factor that reduced the employment proportion is the increase in freelancing jobs. In today’s world, people can have a solid income by just working on one-by-one projects without employment, this is the case for graphic designers or web developers.

To address this problem, the government across the world can implement many solutions. First, they should create more job opportunities. For example, in Chinese airports, instead of investing in machines that manage suitcases and check them automatically, they created a role for unemployed people to increase the employment rate of the country. Secondly, most unemployed university graduates are those who studied subjects related to arts and social sciences. Thus, as we are facing a significant development of AI and technology, the government should force some university students to pursue technology and science-related courses to ensure their employment.

To conclude, many youths are unemployed generally because of job market saturation and the existence of technology. However, this issue can be solved by opening more job opportunities, even if it can be done by simple machines.