Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it? Cause/reason:

There is an alarming rate in the number of homeless individuals in major cities worldwide these days. There are several reasons for this, and this essay will suggest some viable solutions to it.

The primary cause of this issue is that the economic disparities continue to widen in society as job opportunities are not equally accessible to everyone. Economic inequality and low-paying jobs may not adapt to the high costs of living in this modern world, so these things can push a family or individuals to poverty, and even homelessness. For instance, if people live in a metropolitan city and they have a low-income job, they may not be able to rent or buy their own house, and that may result in homelessness. To address this problem, the government should prioritize policies that promote inclusive economic growth as well as concentrating on providing training programmes or welfare policies for employees.

Another driving factor behind the rising of homelessness is the lack of affordable houses. With the increasing inflation situation, the cost of almost everything is exorbitant, including houses’ prices. For people who have low or no income, they may feel stressed as they cannot afford to buy extremely expensive houses nor can they rent them. As a consequence, high accommodation prices lead to the rise of people living outside. To remedy this situation, the authorities should take more action in restraining inflation, invest in affordable housing initiatives or implement more control over renting.

In conclusion, homelessness is still a worrying problem in a number of major countries due to the economic disparities and the lack of affordable houses, and the proposed measures should be adopted to alleviate this issue.