In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is observed that in education and employment, some individuals work harder than others. These could be due to the awards and the letters of reference that they receive from educational institutions and employers as recognition for working hard. However, it is undoubtedly a good thing to put in the effort.

One of the foremost reasons some people work harder than others is because of the attractive awards given to them by the organizations they work for, and the institutions they are learning from. These awards stimulate the passion of individuals by making them more zealous. A recent article from one of the most reputable magazines, highlighted that employees tend to be more industrious when they are rewarded for working hard. Similarly, some students strive to be the best in their fields, so they always put in efforts to maintain that position, and they are often motivated to do so when they are given awards.

Furthermore, working hard is one of the criteria for individuals to receive reference letters from their schools or workplaces. Those with these letters have a better chance of getting high-paying jobs than those without them. This is also a criterion for scholarships in most schools. A recent survey in Nigeria revealed that the majority of the employees with high-paying jobs had reference letters from either their schools or their former employers. In another report, students with reference letters had a better chance in securing scholarships than those without them. All these suggest that working hard is a good thing.

In conclusion, some people work hard because of the benefits associated with it, such as numerous awards and recommendation letters which are of great value in the job market and the educational sector.