In many cities there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernise, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old buildings? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, In many citys old constructions are being demolished and new buildings are taking their places. In my opinion, nevertheless there are some disadvantages of replacing old buildings to modern ones, advantages of this changing is far more than that.

To start with the advantages, in todays world there is a human population that is increasing constantly. With this increasing population, people need more and more place over the time. Unfortunately that is not possible with old and small building because they are meant for less people. So that modern skyscrapers are prefered over the old and small ones. Secondly, mostly old building are unsafe for natural disasters and they can collapse. Over the time, buildings are start to being not safe and should replace with the new and modern ones. For example in Japan, eartquicks are so comman so that they made new and more resistence buildings and with that change eartquicks are no longer dangerous for them.

Otherwise, the buildings that are demolished can be historically important structure. Historical places are our legacy and they can not be replaced. We should give the chance to see these important places to other generations. On the other hand, to make new and modern buildings are doesn’t mean that they are more strong and better. Sometimes old building are way stronger than the modern ones. For instance an eartquick happend recently in Turkey. This eartquick caused many damage and most of the damage caused by new buildings.

To sum up, in a lot of citys there are a replacing from old historical buildings to modern ones. I believe that altough the disadvantages of this change, advantages are outweigh them.