In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether governments should introduce a maximum

wage. While in some ways it may seem reasonable to allow people to earn as much as

companies are willing to pay, I personally believe that employee remuneration should

be capped at a certain level.

There are various reasons why it might be considered beneficial to allow people to be

paid extremely high salaries. If companies offer excellent pay packages, they can attract

the most talented people in their fields to work for them. For example, technology

companies like Google are able to employ the best programmers because of the huge

sums that they are willing to pay. Furthermore, these well-paid employees are likely to

be highly motivated to work hard and therefore drive their businesses successfully. In

theory, this should result in a thriving economy and increased tax revenues, which

means that paying high salaries benefits everyone.

However, I agree with those who argue that there should be a maximum wage. By

introducing a limit on earnings, the pay-gap between bosses and employees can be

reduced. Currently, the difference between normal and top salaries is huge, and this

can demotivate workers who feel that the situation is unfair. With lower executive

salaries, it might become feasible to introduce higher minimum wages, and everybody

would be better off. One possible consequence of greater equality could be that poverty

and crime rates fall because the general population will experience an improved

standard of living.