In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A lot of countries around the world suffer from the decline of population in the countryside compared to the cities. I believe this decrease has a negative effect on those countries, leading to the increase of crowd and rise of demand of products which results in the rise of cost of living. Having more people in the cities rises the demand for goods, resulting in a high cost of living lifestyle and significally changing the daily life of its citizens. People will tend to buy cheaper products, sacrifice some sources of leisure and entertainment in their life and limit from their spendings even for necessary products. From my experience living in the city I could easily relate to this, as I have had a much financially stable life in rural areas. Additionally, another problem arise from the gradual increase of people in the cities, which is crowd. Crowd greatly influence our daily life, from having trouble going to work because of traffic, long queues

at the bank or even shopping at markets. Moreover, this could lead to injuries among people in very crowded places or train stations. Personally, living in the cities has always been noisy and full of action and for someone who loves peace and quiet it wasn’t the best environment to live in. As we have discussed I believe having more people in towns could lead to a bad impact of the cost of living, lifestyle and peacefulness of the inhabitants, resulting in higher cost of living and lower quality of life for these individuals.