In many countries, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

Older generations did not have as much freedom as their younger counterparts in many countries. In my opinion, this development is positive overall.

There are more personal life choices compared to what there was before, enabling children to define themselves more deeply and clearly. Education is developing unprecedentedly fast, contributing a growing number of majors and fields, which may allow today’s generations to freely choose based on their interests and preferences. For instance, many students today pursue emerging disciplines such as artificial intelligence or environmental design – areas that did not even exist a few decades ago. This freedom may also build a strong foundation for their career advancement and the understanding of life purpose. Furthermore, such changes are especially noticeable for women, who used to be reserved or even limited to certain activities and behavior.

Access to the internet, which was not available for previous generations, should not be neglected. It has undeniably expanded many children’s social circles. Unlike before, when people used letters to communicate with others, youth can send messages and call instantly, allowing them to keep in touch with their parents, friends, relatives, and teachers without worrying about the distance between them. Making virtual friends also plays a significant role, as they can discuss their stress and other personal concerns that they may hesitate to share with those they know. Apart from building and maintaining friendships, children have a great opportunity to gain knowledge. Numerous complex topics are explained in a digestible manner through both written and recorded ways.

In conclusion, children are living a more liberal life than ever before, which I view as a beneficial trend. This is because it has provided them more autonomy in deciding life choices and the internet availability.