In many countries, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s contemporary society, children have more freedom than they used to in the past. While there are few apparent issues related to these, generally I believe that it is a desirable change, as it gives joy, time and choice to do more things for children.

Undoubtedly, youths having more freedom have some disadvantages. More freedom makes children more inactive and slothful, and they do not get enough experience and worldview. The reason why children will be lazy is that children don’t want to take action if they are not forced by parents. On the other hand, children are always spending time playing video games, using laptops, tablets and something like glamorous. It distracts them from studying and physical activities that children need on a daily basis.

Nevertheless, the positive effects are significant. Most youngsters spent their time learning trades and handicraft to help their families economically in the past. Nowadays, children have everything that old people wanted when they were young. They are spending time joyful and being children; having fun, playing and doing whatever they want. In addition, they have time and choice to choose what they want to be, whether their interests lead to be doctor, lawyer, teacher and so on. Freedom gives them everything: patience, time, choice and joy to spend their time meaningfully.

In conclusion, slothfulness and less experience are likely to affect some children. Nevertheless, given choices and time, it shows that, on the whole, this is a positive development. To prevent children from being inactive, a little punishment or force will be required from parents.