In many countries, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s globalized world, children have more freedom compared to the past. Some people think that modern children have too much freedom, more than they actually need. I believe it has both a positive and negative effect on young people, and in this essay, I will explain my perspective with examples.

On the one hand, freedom helps children develop their creativity. Many adolescents tend to feel more comfortable when they have enough freedom because they are young and curious. Therefore, parents and teachers should let teenagers do and engage in activities they want because it can help to identify their talents. For example, in Finland, children are free to choose what they want to do, as it helps them to feel more comfortable and accept schools as their second home. Perhaps, for this reason, Finland’s education is often considered the best.

On the other hand, too much freedom might cause serious problems. The most concerning issue is that some teenagers might start smoking cigarettes or taking drugs. This is very common in the United States, where many adolescents sell drugs to each other and become addicted to taking them. Additionally, some young people start not respecting thier teachers when they are given more freedom, especially teenagers because they always feel they are right and try to argue with teachers even for minor issues.

In conclusion, although freedom provides numerous benefits for children’s well-being and creativity, it also causes big problems for many teenagers. Personally, I think it would be better to maintain a balance in giving freedom to children.