In many countries, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that nowadays, children get more freedom than in the past in many areas in the earth. While there are some drawbacks of this trend, I believe the merits outweigh the demerits.

Most importantly, there are a good number of reasons why I think that giving freedom to children is a positive development. One possible reason is that it helps to enhance children’s confidence level. For example, in many parts of the world, parents provide full freedom to their children. Therefore, they can go anywhere or they meet with different people. On account of meeting and communicating with different people, they feel confidence when they meet a new person and talk with a new person freely. So, it helps to improve not only children’s confidence but also their communication skills. Another possible reason is that it is an era of science and technology, and many parents are giving technologically freedom to their child. Parents are giving new and advanced devices to their kids. As a result, children are becoming technically expert. In addition, many children are learning new things using smart devices such as computers, smartphones, iPads, and so on. Therefore, if parents provide technologically freedom to their kids, definitely it will be beneficial for children’s future.

Moreover, many parents are scared to provide full independence to their children because they think that kids will build friendship with wrong people provided that kids are given full freedom. However, I think that it is a totally wrong concept. Actually, when a child play with others or meet with different kinds of people, they can learn about different culture and make difference between good and bad. Furthermore, if any parents follow this trend and provide freedom to their kids, it will assist to improve kid’s team work ability. For instance, when a child gets freedom, he or she make friends and play together. So, it is a sign of team working ability. Last but not least, giving freedom helps to think freely and generate new ideas. So, this trend provides fuel to children’s brain. Children are more creative now than in the past due to only this trend.

In conclusion, although giving freedom to children can be dangerous some times, it assists to improve their communication skills, technical skills, and thinking ability. Therefore, we should provide freedom to our children so that they can make mistakes and learn from those mistakes.