In many countries, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

Compared to the past, children now seem to be more free in some countries of the world. Although this tendency holds both advantages and disadvantages, I still believe that this is a positive development. In this essay, I will discuss this issue before evaluating it.

It is unavoidable that freedom can bring some drawbacks to children and adults can find it difficult to control and protect them. One of the biggest threats is the danger of security, especially in many developing countries. As we know, the economy as well as technology is becoming more and more developed, which results in the changes of the way to communicate. For example, people nowadays can easily connect with any stranger around the world via the Internet but sometimes they can’t correctly appreciate their personality. With children, who do not have enough knowledge and experience, it is more challenging and it will even lead to some dangers like crimes if they are given much freedom.

Nevertheless, I assert that more freedom in this era will bring to children a lot of benefits. In the present day, children have more opportunities to experience and broaden their mind than in the past. With the support of technology and the encouragement of parents, they can try everything interesting such as going abroad to study, playing games to relax and create some ideas, trekking with friends. These activities help them to have more confidence and can make good decisions about their own life. In addition, giving more freedom to children also makes the family relationship better and happier. If parents always put pressure on children about doing anything, they will likely be stressed and even lead to conflicts. By contrast, young people can feel comfortable and compatible with their parents when they are given the right to decide something.

In conclusion, while there are many disadvantages regarding giving more freedom to children, I believe the benefits that result from practice are of more vital significance. It is recommended that both adults and children should discuss and have proper measures to guarantee the security and develop positively.